Kobo I – e-reader

I have a confession to make – I think I may be a teensy bit enamoured of my latest electronic toy. Last week, for a variety of reasons we won’t go into here, I bought a Kobo e-reader from Whitcoulls.

According to the Whitcoulls site:  The Kobo eReader makes the perfect book even better with an E-Ink screen, up to two week battery charge, and storage for up to 1000 books. With a compact size and weighing only 221 grams it is an easy fit for nearly all your pouches, purses, and packs.

Being one of those girls who likes to research as much as possible before buying (not that research is fullproof if my Huawei experience is anything to go by)I checked out the alternatives first.   I left price out of the equation because the variance was around $50 depending on where and how you bought the reader.  Eventually I opted for the Kobo because it looked as though it would be the most user friendly and would be the simplest for book purchases given I am based in New Zealand.

I decided to buy instore rather than online and finally decided against the wi-fi option in favour of the straight USB connection.  This wasn’t purely for the sake of $50 -it was more because I didn’t think I would use the wi-fi.  Besides, when the day comes that I eventually get an iPad (the wait is a study in learning patience and discipline) the Kobo will probably go to one of my offspring and I *know* they don’t need wi-fi.  But I digress….

The only colour option my store had was black – which was fine -and zip zap a few minutes later I was heading out the door with my new toy.

Once plugged in the Kobo takes a whopping 3 hours to charge up and since patience is a virtue I’m still working on (see above commentary on iPads) it was a long afternoon waiting for the little red/blue light to turn blue.

First point in Kobo’s favour is there is a comprehensive “how to use” book included on the e-reader and a quick “how to get started” hard copy pamphlet.  As you know – I like instructions.  To all the men out there, repeat after me: instructions are my friend.

While the reader charges it installs the Kobo/Whitcoulls interface on to your computer.

Screenshot of Kobo/Whitcoulls interface screen

This simply signed you in to Whitcoulls with your username and password (if you aren’t already a member of the Whitcoulls rewards programme, join here).  From here you can buy and download books directly as well as update your reader.  You can also get books from Kobobooks and yes even Amazon.  Just check the format – although the Kobo reads most formats.

From there you simply scroll through the list of books on your reader using the navigation button on the lower right corner, click on the book of your choice, and begin reading.  It’s not at all like reading a computer screen – it’s a matt background, no flickering, and you can choose between a sans serif and a serif font as well as choosing the size of the print.

To turn a page simply click the navigation button.  Hint: click the button while you are reading the second to last line of the page – the reader does have a delay and clicking at this point will avoid a delay in reading.

The Kobo comes loaded with 100 free e-books – and there are hundreds more available out there – all of which are classics that I’ve been meaning to read for years.  Now I have no excuse.  You can even have several books on the go at once – which you won’t be surprised to hear I’m sure:I have.  You can also get magazines and newspapers on the Kobo – something I intend to try next week.

Now, in our house we have six large bookcases and a smattering of smaller ones.  They are all full of books. Full to overflowing.  I personally don’t have a problem with this and I live for the day when I get my inbuilt, floor to ceiling book case.  Having an ereader will not change this.  I will always buy and read hard copy books.  However I am a voracious reader and an e-reader allows me to ‘pander’ to my addiction at a lower cost and with less storage issues.  Now I can simply buy the ones I truly love and wish to keep on the shelf.

The Geeky Stuff

(courtesy of www.koboereader.com)

Pre-loaded eBooks 100FREE,completeeBooks
Borrow books from your local library Y
Connectivity WiFi,USB
Receive & read newspapers & magazines Y
eBook File Formats EPUB,PDF
Import books from other open standard Bookstores Y
Automatic last page bookmarking across devices Y
Ability to read your eBooks on additional devices iPad,iPhone®,BlackBerry®,AndroidSmartphones,PCandMACOS®
Device Size 184mmx120mm
Device Depth 10mm
Weight 221g
Diagonal display size 6”EInk
Screen greyscale level 16level
Book Storage Over1000eBooks
Memory Expansion Upto10,000eBookswitha32GBSDmemorycard
Adjustable font sizes Y
Choice of Font Styles Y
Targeted Local Content & Currency Bookstore Canada
US
UK
Australia
NewZealand
Battery Life 10days/
10,000pageturns*

 

Rating

8/10 – there’s very little I don’t like about this gadget but I’m sure as the technology evolves it’s going to get better and better  – and I can’t wait to see it.

One thought on “Kobo I – e-reader

  1. Pingback: Alas, poor Kobo, I knew him Sony | NZ Girl Geek

Leave a Reply

